crest.jpgThe first week of knowing that we are going to be parents has come and gone. I have begun to take on my role as the care taker now. This needs to be a time for Lori to take advantage of the fact that she’s pregnant and let me do some of the work around our apartment for a while. Hell, she’s about to be doing quite a bit of work bringing our child into the world. She needs all the rest that she can get. The least that I can do is wash clothes and do the dishes.

This coming week starts a streak of traveling that I have to do for work. Here’s my schedule for the next month and a half.

  • July 25th – 28th: Manatee County, FL (Sarasota)
  • July 31st – August 4th: Hays County, TX (San Marcos)
  • August 7th: Collin County, TX (Plano)
  • August 8th – August 10th: Wayne County, MI (Detroit)

Once I get done with Detroit, I will be able to stay home for the week following that. Then, if the schedule stays as it is, I may have to go out to Miami, FL for two weeks starting on August 21st.

As you can guess, this is going to put a strain on our situation. I want to be here to help Lori all the time, but work is requiring that I not be around. That really sucks. I want to be her support when she’s relunctantly getting blood drawn at the doctor’s office. I want to wait on her at home when she needs something to eat or drink. I want to be here to clean up so that she doesn’t have to. I don’t want to be out of town, but I think that with as strong as our relationship is, we’ll be able to make the best of the situation. Sometimes, going through difficulties makes things seem even more special once you have come out of the troubled times still intact. That goes right along with the Ferguson family motto which says “Dulcius Ex Asperis”. This translates to “Sweeter after difficulties.”

