Have you ever stopped and really thought about how lucky you are to have the things in your life that you have?  I had one of those moments today.  I was on my way back to my hotel, which is downtown Detroit, and I was stopped at a red light.  I saw a homeless guy sitting on the side of the road with one of those ever familiar cardboard signs waiting for a gracious person to give them some sort of handout.  Most of the time, seeing people like that in Detroit doesn’t get to me because I’ve made myself not think about it.  Not because I don’t care, but because if I let myself think about it too much, it kinda gets to me.

So, as I pull up to the red light, I quickly think about whether or not I’m going to be generous to this guy today.  Right as the light starts to turn green, I reached in my back pocket for my wallet and pulled out the first bill that I could grab…all the while starting to make my way over from the middle lane that I was in so that I could pull up close to him to give him some money.  The bill that I pulled out was a 10.  I folded it, rolled down the window and he approached my car.  He started to thank me right away and told me “God bless you.”  At that time, he glanced down and saw that I was giving him ten dollars.  All of the sudden, he was over joyed.  He said “OH MY GOD, OH MY GOD…THANK YOU SO MUCH….GOD BLESS YOU!!”  I told him “you’re welcome, and take care,” and had to quickly drive off because the light was green and traffic caught up to me.  As I drove off, I saw him waving at me in the rear view mirror. 

At that moment, I thought about how blessed I really was to have what I have.  I don’t have alot of money, I don’t own a big house, hell, I don’t even own a house at all.  But, I’m not homeless.  I have a job that pays well.  I live in a nice apartment.  I drive a new truck.  I have a beautiful fiance and a baby on the way.  I truly am blessed and very grateful for what I have. 

I didn’t think about whether this guy on the side of the road was truly homeless or not or if he was going to use the money to buy alcohol, drugs or whatever.  He obviously needed money and I had a little to spare.  I know that I will get paid twice a month.  I know that I don’t have to write on a cardboard sign pleading for money or food on the side of a road.  I will be able to get by without that ten dollars.  This guy literally doesn’t know where his next meal will come from.  And I hope that my little kind gesture reaffirms in him, if even a tiny bit, that there are people out there that still understand that we are all human.  Just because someone is begging for food does not mean that they are not human. 

If everyone can do something like this every now and then, think about how much we really help, even if it is just a little bit.  It’s little moments like that that can mean so much to people that have less that others.  So next time you see someone on the side of the road, think about maybe giving someone some change that you have.  I’m not saying to give handouts to everyone, but a little deed here and there won’t hurt.  And think about how blessed you are.  I did today.

