I think that I’m starting to realize that we may end up having a girl as our first baby. Which is what Lori wants, but I wanted a boy as the first. In all actuality though, I just want a kid, the gender makes no difference to me. Of course, I say that now, but I may be singing a different tune once she starts going through “girl stuff” and dating and whatnot. Yuck, I don’t even want to think about that yet.

Why have I started to come to this realization you might ask? Well, there are a number of differnt things that point to that. First of all, Lori says that she “feels” like it’s a girl. And from everything that I’ve heard, alot of times, a woman’s intuition is usually correct. She says that she’s been dreaming about little girls. That’s all fine and dandy, but that alone doesn’t convince me.

Second thing is that my best friend Chris has always said that he thinks that not only is my first kid going to be a girl, but he’s convinced that I’m going to have triplet girls. Here’s the story behind that (because there’s always a story with me). When Chris found out he was having a boy (6 years ago), I was all excited for him, saying things like “Wow…that’s awesome….a son for your first kid….every guy’s dream.” And I told him, “and knowing my luck, I’ll end up with a girl for my first one.” Well, that wasn’t enough for Chris. He popped back with “Dude…not only will you end up with one girl as your first, but knowing your luck, you’ll end up with triplet girls!” And the joke has been going on since then.

Now here we are with a baby on the way. It’s way to early to tell the sex yet, but with Lori having her “feeling” about it and Chris’ prediction, maybe they’re on to something. But, still this isn’t enough to convince me of it.

Today, I get an email from a friend of mine from high school. She was repsonding to an email that I sent her telling her that I was going to be a dad. She said that I should checkout a website called BabyMan, so I did. This website makes predictions as to the sex of your baby. And as you probably guessed, it predicted that we’re going to have a baby girl. Not that that means anything, but all these signs seem to point to a girl. I’m sure that if we do have a girl, she’ll be a daddy’s girl. But I’m not going to let her flap her long eye lashes like her mom so that she can weasle her way out of things. I say that now, but we’ll see what happens when the time comes.

Regardless of what the sex is, I’m going to love our baby just the same. I’m so anxious about this whole thing that it’s driving me crazy. I can’t wait for the baby to be born, but yet, at the same time, I know that once things get crazy with the newborn, I’ll be wishing that we had a little more time to get ready. Somehow though, we’ll survive this whole thing. Baby boy or Baby girl, whichever you are, I’m ready for you!

