We are proud to announce that we have seen the first pictures of our precious little Baby Ferguson. What a cool experience! I just want to start out by saying that our doctor (Dr. Maunder) seems to be an awesome doctor. In fact, everyone that we encountered during our few hours at the Women’s Clinic today were all exceptional people. We were really comfortable there. And, I must say that Lori impressed me when they took her blood today. She has been so worked up and paranoid about it because of her needle phobia, but she got through it like a champ! Due partly because the nurse really knew what she was doing, but Lori held up her end of the baragain by not getting worked up about it. Hats off to you Lori!! That’s a big obstacle to get over. That’ll make future visits to the doctor that much more tolerable.

I want to talk about the pictures now. Lori is 9 weeks, 5 days pregnant which jives precisely with what we had calculated ourselves. Our baby is a mere 2.59 cm long right now. That’s a little bit more than an inch long. The ultrasound they did shows the shape of the baby and we were actually able to see its little heart beating. We could also see the baby move around a little bit while they were recording the procedure onto DVD. So, when I got home, I took screenshots of the DVD recording so that I could share them with the world. Yes, I’m a very proud father-to-be! How could I not be?!

(You can click on the pictures to bring up a bigger version of them.)

baby-ferguson1.jpegThis is a picture of the very beginning of the ultrasound. (or is it called a sonogram….or are they one in the same? I don’t know. All I know is that it’s my baby’s picture.) You can’t see much, but you can very clearly tell that it’s a little person inside there. And you can’t see it in the picture but on the DVD, you could see its little heart beating away! And we were able to see it move its little arms and actually its whole body a few times. Lori started crying, but I maintained my composure, which I didn’t think I’d be able to do. It’ll be a different story once we’re later in the pregnancy, I’m sure. Especially when the baby is born.

baby-ferguson2.jpegAnd this one is later on in the ultrasound. You can see the little remains of the yolk sack behind the baby’s back. The nurse pointed out that she thought that it made it look like our baby had little angel wings. She also pointed out during the different views that we saw that it looked like the baby had its hands together in front of its body like it was praying. Hence the comment that she typed on the screen “A Little Angel”. We thought it was sweet. I’m sure you will too! : )

Our first visit is over, but it’s only the first of many to come. I’m extremely happy with the doctor recommendation that Lori’s co-worker Susan gave us. We both got a really good vibe from everyone on his staff. It makes it so much more comforting knowing that the doctor and his staff really do care about their patients…and about the family of the patients as well.

Now I’m going to sit here and probably watch the DVD again, for the 5th time today. I can’t get enough of it. I can’t wait until we get to see a more developed one. We’ve decided that we’re going to find out the sex now. That ultrasound won’t be until somewhere around the 20th week or so. Dr. Maunder mentioned to us that his office just recently purchased a 3D & 4D sonogram machine. They’re still in the process of getting proficient with it. But he assured us that they’ll know what they’re doing when the time comes for us to elect to do that during the 3rd trimester. And I think that it will definitely be worth whatever money we have to pay to get one done. If you don’t know what those types of images look like, head over to Google Images and search for 3D and 4D sonograms. It’s AMAZING the clarity that you have of your baby and all its features, right down the the eyebrows and lashes. 3D means that you can see a realistic 3 dimensional photo of the baby. 4D means that you can see it in motion while the sonogram is being done. I’m just in awe at the technology behind it. Check out the pictures online and you’ll see what I mean.

That’s about it for our first doctor’s visit. Our due date is around March 17, 2007. We’ll see how close to that date that we come. Too much earlier will put our baby being born around Lori’s birthday which is on March 8th.

For now, I’m done, but I’ll update more once we find more out. Hope you enjoyed the pictures. I know we did and still are.

