This afternoon finds me on another business trip. Today I’m heading out to Miami-Dade county. I’ve never been to Miami before aside from a brief layover on my way to Ft. Myers, FL a while back. This is the third Florida project that I’ve had some part in. I’m going down there to get their project team ready to start doing configuration of Odyssey, the Case Management software that we develop and implement for court systems. The two people from Miami that I have already dealt with on the phone sound like they already have a head start on where I would have expected them to be at this point. They’ve already started messing around with the application, so that should make this week go a little smoother.

I’m glancing out the window right now overlooking the Gulf of Mexico. And in case you were wondering, yes, I am sitting in First Class. My Gold Elite status was obtained through Northwest Airlines, but I’ve been able to use that status with Continental for my flights. Of course, that means that flying out of Texas, if I fly Continental, I’ll be making a layover in Houston, but with the service that you get in First Class on this airline, it’s worth it. However, days like today, sometimes I wonder. I had 30 minutes to make my connection today in Houston. We landed 5 minutes earlier than we were supposed to, but we sat on the runway for 20 minutes. That didn’t leave me with more than 15 minutes to make it from the B terminal over to the C terminal. As I did last week when I was trying to make it home from Detroit, I grabbed the straps of my backpack and picked up a full strided sprint to the Tram. Then, once off the Tram, I hauled ass over to my gate. I was one of the last people to make it, but I made it none-the-less. And, to my surprise and delight, there was no one seated in the seat next to me. First class, no neighbor, life doesn’t get much better than this.

It’s moments like this that I need to enjoy, because dealing with the pregnancy is quite a feat. I’m not saying that it’s bad, but it’s definitely already started to show me that having a baby will change your life forever. There’s so many different things and feelings going and they change from one minute to the next. On the one hand, I feel so much closer to Lori. After all, she is carrying my…well, our baby. I loved Lori before this all happened, but now, the feeling goes so much deeper. It’s really hard to explain in words. It’s one of those things that you have to experience to truly understand. It’s amazing how much I love this woman now. And how much I admire her for going through what she’s going through. Both of us are reading books like good parents should so that we know what to expect during this thing called pregnancy. Every time Lori gets to a part in a book where the author reassures the reader that their behaviors, good, bad, or ugly are all justified, she looks over at me and says “See Sweetie, it says that I don’t have any control over my emotions.” Well, I totally understand that. And I assure her each time that I am fully aware of what’s going on and I don’t take any of the bad things personally.

It’s already been an interesting experience, to say the least. And let me preface all this by saying that I’m not badmouthing her at all. I love Lori with all my heart and the change that we are both going through right now will not change that. I just want to give my perspective on the whole thing. That being said, let’s talk about mood swings. Man! Every guy that has ever dealt with a woman on her period will say “Yeah, PMS sucks!” Well, pregnancy takes it to a whole new level. Moods will change at the drop of a hat and it doesn’t just last a week like a period does. From what I’ve read and learned from folks that already have kids, this pretty much lasts the whole pregnancy, especially the first trimester. Thank God we’re just now starting week 11. After next week, it’s supposed to start getting a little better; at least for a few months.

It’s been an interesting phenomenon, these hormones have been. Just like that, Lori will go from being happy and cheerful, to being nauseous and pissed. She’ll cry for no reason and she’ll start worrying about things that we can’t control. But, I know that it’s part of what happens when you’re expecting. The thing that I need to work on is not to react harshly to the mood swings. Your natural instinct is that when being verbally attacked, attack back. But you can’t do that now. All the books say that my world has now turned into Lori’s world. And I’ve got to do whatever it takes to make her happy. And that goes for the pregnancy from beginning clear until the baby is born. I like what one of the books that I’m reading said. It was talking about when she starts going into labor. It said that no matter what she asks for or says, you HAVE TO do it! No questions asked; unless of course it would endanger me, her or the baby. So, it said that when she starts going into labor, even if it’s completely dark in the room that she’s in, if she says that it’s too bright, by God, you’d better look for a light to turn off, or make her think that you turned something off. That cracked me up when I read that.

I’ve been pretty loving to Lori throughout this whole thing, but I need to kick it up a notch to help offset the evil part of a woman that comes out during the pregnancy. I need to practice my “Yes dear” and “of course I will Sweetie” comments. Everything that I’ve ready suggests that, and with this being my first run at this baby making thing, I am probably better off taking that advice.

Her appetite has been on the fritz because of the upset stomachs that she’s been getting. But that will pick up after this next week or two. I can’t wait for the second trimester. I know it won’t last forever, but I hear that life is generally great then and so is the sex! Good times for everyone. It sounds like the calm before the storm. The third trimester will be a challenge with her carrying the baby and having to walk up 17 stairs in our apartment every day. I’m sure that will be a challenge, but I’m sure that we’ll survive somehow. Surely we’re not the only people to be having a baby that have stairs to use.

It sucks that I’m going to have to be out of town for the next month or so. Lori has her next appointment at the doctor’s in a month. I’m going to be in Detroit then. She’s going to be able to hear the baby’s heartbeat during that visit. That really sucks that I’m going to miss that. I need to figure out some way for her to get that recorded. I don’t want to miss out on something like that. Even though I’m sure that there will be other opportunities to get to hear the baby’s heartbeat, I want to hear the first one that Lori gets to hear. I’ll figure something out.

Well, I’m going to put a movie in on the laptop and relax during the rest of the trip. I’ll be picked up at the airport by KC, the project manager. Since I won’t be driving, I’ll make sure that the flight attendant brings me an extra drink to aid in my relaxation.

