Good news!Well, we have some good news in the Ferguson family. Lori and I just found out last Friday that she’s pregnant again! And it’s funny how is happened on a month when we said that we were not going to worry ourselves about getting pregnant. Last Friday, I woke up from an unexpected nap at lunch time (I work from home and have never had that happen before) and called Lori because I saw that I had a missed call from her while I was out. She said that she didn’t remember what she called for because she fell asleep at work right after she called me. How weird is that? We both fell asleep around the same time, while we were supposed to be working! She said “I must be pregnant!” So, when she got home from work that day, she took a pregnancy test. I was right there with her, waiting to see what the home pregnancy test had to say. It was almost like waiting to see what your fate is by looking into a magic ball. The suspense was killing me when Lori handed it to me and said “I didn’t think I was pregnant.” The test looked negative to me too. (It’s not the one in the picture right here, by the way.) As I looked at it closer, it started to look like the vertical blue line was going to actually make a cross with the existing negative line that was already there. You could faintly see that there was a cross – the cross that says you’re about to go through a pregnancy.

I showed it to her and she agreed that you could see a slim, faint looking blue line going up and down. Since she wasn’t supposed to start her “time of the month” for another 4 or 5 days, we knew that it was still a little early to expect good results. But, we figured that there wouldn’t be any line there is it was surely negative. We decided that she would take another one first thing in the morning. That’s supposed to be the best time to test if a woman is still hasn’t missed. At 4:30am, Lori woke me up and said that she was going to take it. I fumbled to the bathroom, rubbing my eyes and squinting from the bright light. She sat down, took the test and handed back up to me. Again, we waited for the vertical line. This time, you could see it a little better. That must mean that it’s a positive. Nothing would have shown up if her body weren’t already making the hcg (which I like to call the “hee bee gee bees”) hormone that indicates pregnancy.

We smiled at each other, kissed and then I let out the most pathetic, half-asleep “yay’s” ever. I was ready to go back to bed. We hugged and were pretty sure that we were going to have another chance at being parents. And it just so happens that this is the same time that we got pregnant last year. Right after we lost Logan, neither of us was sure about whether we would try to conceive during the same month that Logan was conceived in. Both times happened right after we moved into a new apartment as well. Kinda weird. But, I was, and still am, very excited! I know it’s going to be a girl this time too. That will make Lori the proudest mother in the world. She always wanted our first baby to be a girl, so I hope that this time, it is. You know that she’ll be Daddy’s little girl too. I cringe when I think about how spoiled she’ll be. Just like our dog Penny. She knows she has it good, and we love that!

We went back to bed and the next day, we picked up a digital pregnancy test and took that one. It said that the results could take up to 3 minutes to show up. We waited probably a little less that one minute and it popped up a digital “Pregnant”. That said it all. We are going to have another shot at having a baby.

So, we’re going to go through another pregnancy. We’re excited, but apprehensive at the same time. I hope that the apprehension starts to fade because I want to be just as excited about this pregnancy as we were with Logan’s. That’s not fair to the second baby, if we aren’t. But at the same time, as we go through this pregnancy, inching closer to each of the milestones that we had before, and pretty much at the same time, it’s going to be tough. I’m going to be out of town for all but 3 weeks until the middle of October. That means mucho dinero because of my company’s travel bonus, but it also means that I won’t be here to take care of my baby’s momma! I want to make sure that she doesn’t have to do anything but relax, but I won’t be able to because of the training that I have to do in Detroit. I just hope that this time goes by fast. I’ll be done traveling and we’ll be at the point in the pregnancy last time when we lost Logan. We’ll be able to breathe a little easier once we reach a point where there’s a chance the baby can live if she has to be born early. I just want to be able to hold my baby in my arms and have her look up at me with adoring blue eyes (that she’ll be getting from both of us…awesome baby blues). I want the same for Lori too. We both really want a baby bad. I can’t imagine the feelings I’ll have for not only my new baby, but for my wife as well.

I think that it’s amazing what women’s bodies are capable of creating. It truly is a miracle – there’s no way around it. When I held Logan’s little lifeless body in the hospital, I was in utter reverence to God for being able to create something so intricate, but yet so delicate. At just 19 weeks and 5 days, what started out as just a ball of cells, had turned into a precious, miniature human being. Only this one will always be preserved that way. In our hearts and minds, Logan will always be our baby angel. Perfect and pure for eternity. I know that Logan will be watching over this pregnancy and he’ll be with our new baby forever. I believe that’s the reason why it wasn’t until June that we got pregnant.

I’m excited and I know that Lori is too. We just need to keep our relationship going well and try to focus on being excited about this new baby that we’re about to bring into the world. I love Lori so much and feel honored to have her as my wife and mother of my children. I couldn’t ask for anyone more perfect! Everything does happen for a reason and there was a reason that Lori and I met (online, none-the-less) some 10 years ago. I’m glad that our paths crossed again. It’s been an awesome experience so far. I can’t wait for what the future has for us!

