So, I’ve decided to try my hand at Spanish.  After all, I live in Austin, TX and one of my favorite types of food is mexican food.  There are authentic restaurants all over the place and it would be nice to be able to go into a mom-and-pop place and speak their language.  I know some of the basics like “hola” (hello) and “gracias” (thank you) and “uno mas cervesa por favor” (one more beer please), but not much more than that.  Well, I do know a few more words than that, but not enough to get by on. 

 I use iTunes with my iPod and stumbled across a podcast that teaches you Spanish.  It’s called “Coffee Break Spanish“.  It’s hosted by two Scottish people (I know, learning Spanish from two Scotts, how weird is that?)  They do a really good job though.  You can check out their website and read the reviews that they’ve amassed from loyal “students” around the world. 

The primary Spanish that they teach is what is spoken in Spain, so there will be subtle differences in dialect between that and what is actually spoken in Texas…or America for that matter.  From what I can tell, they point out those differences for you, so it’s all good. 

I want Lori to start listening to them too.  She has expressed an interest in Spanish, so this should be right up her alley.  The format is awesome and I think for a small membership fee, you can get access to extra learning materials that they have to offer.  For anyone interesting in learning Spanish in a fun, easy way, you’ll have to check this out.  If you’ve got iTunes, you can subscribe to the podcast.  If you have no idea what a podcast is, crawl out from under that rock and Google it.  If you don’t use iTunes, you can always just download the episodes from their website.  Give it a shot, you might be surprised at how easy it is and how enjoyable they make it.

So for right now, hasta luego!

Coffee Break Spanish

