A good friend of mine sent me a link to a YouTube video of a song that was written about Texas A&M called “We Bleed Maroon”. It’s one of those songs that if you didn’t go there, it probably wouldn’t mean much to you. The song is about 6 minutes long. (I’ve got the YouTube video linked below.) As I sat here and watched/listened to it, I started to think back to my college days. They seem so far away now. It’s funny how while I was in college, all I could think about was graduating and being done with class and studying. Now that I’m in the real world, I miss college. I didn’t care too much for tests and studying, but college is so much more than that. For me, it was a life-changing experience. I made friends in college that I will, no doubt, have for the rest of my life. When I got married, 4 of the 5 guys in my wedding were A&M buddies.

I often wonder what life would have been like for me if I had chosen a different college. Don’t tell anyone, but I originally planned on being a Longhorn. That was the first college that I got accepted to. I applied while I was in the Army. However, I didn’t get into their engineering program, so I had to rethink things. My uncle, who was an electrical engineer at the time, mentioned A&M to me. At first, it seemed to make no sense. Why in God’s name would I want to be an Aggie, if all I had ever talked about was being a Longhorn? Well, to make a long story short, I ended up choosing A&M. I can’t imagine myself going anywhere else. The friends that I made were awesome and the experiences that I had will stay with me forever.

While I was a junior, the Bonfire collapsed as it was being built and killed 12 Aggies. I knew a girl that was killed. It was an incredibly traumatic time for our college. But, during that time, I had never been so proud to be part of such a large “family” – a family that was helped out by its community and also helped out by each other. The mourning was hard, but we mourned as a family. The camaraderie was second-to-none. I was proud to be an Aggie. I still am proud to be an Aggie.

Sure A&M had weird traditions and goofy yells that we did at football and basketball games, but that’s what made Aggies Aggies. I loved it. And I miss it. Life was so “simple” back then. Go to class, learn, study and move onto the next class. Of course, there was quite a bit of fun to be had during that time as well. But, life didn’t seem to demand as much as it does now. Don’t get me wrong, I love being married and I’m ecstatic about the fact that my beautiful wife is pregnant again. But, there are times when I’d trade in my job for a pain in the ass class in a heartbeat.

This is just a good reminder that you have to enjoy life AS you go through it. Live life to the fullest. It goes by extremely fast. Do what you can now because all you’ll be left with is memories once it’s past you by. Make those memories memorable ones! I’m fairly certain that I did. That’s why this video got to me the way that it did.

