Lori and I were watching TV earlier tonight and our show was interrupted by Breaking News on one of our local stations.  The report was about a 500 ft. stretch of I35, in Minneapolis, collapsed into the Mississippi River today during rush hour traffic.  What a horrible accident!  Witnesses have stated that they saw dozens of cars plummet down to the ground and into the Mississippi River. 

As the report ran, we both sat there in disbelief.  Neither one of us knew what to say.  Finally, I told Lori that I felt really weird about this accident.  Just today, while I was driving home from a client site, I drove across an overpass which connects I35 to one of Austin’s toll roads.  It was one of those roads that goes high up in the air and arcs off to one side.  As I was driving up the new piece of the freeway, I thought to myself “It’s amazing that man can builds structures like this.”  And I also thought “How bad would that suck if I was stuck in rush hour traffic on this thing, with cars jammed packed on it, and it collapsed all the sudden?”  I honestly thought those exact things!!  And then a couple hours later, we get a report that this piece of 35 collapsed in Minneapolis.  How weird is that??!! 

This isn’t the first time that this has happened either.  You might remember some years back, a Concord jet crashed and burned in Paris or something like that.  It crashed as it was landing.  Well, I had a dream about that very thing, just the night before.  In my dream, I was standing off to the side of a runway that was out in the middle of nowhere.  I was the only person standing there and this jet came in really fast trying to make a landing.  I remember thinking in my dream that it was going way too fast to land.  And then it crashed into a huge ball of flames.  That was the very night before that accident happened in real life.  Again, how weird is that?! 

I’ve got one more weird incident similar to these two.  There was one summer when we were kids and we were being watched during the day by our pastor and his wife, while my mom was at work.  The pastor’s wife was a school teacher and was teaching part of the days during the summer.   She asked me one day if I wanted to go with her while she was teaching, so I agreed.  The night before we went to that school (which, by the way, I had never been to before then) I had a dream that I was in a school that was covered, inside and out, with mud.  There was mud everywhere!  It was on the floors, the walls, the ceilings, there were mud books in the library, mud in the cafeteria, and mud on the playground.  It was a strange dream.  But, I remember it like it was yesterday.  In my dream, I walked around the school and remember walking to the library and cafeteria.  I thought that it was weird that there was mud everywhere, but no one in my dream seemed to be too concerned about it. 

The next day, I went to hang out at this lady’s summer school class.  We walked in the front doors of the school and it hit me.  I felt like I had been to this school before.  But it was so much more than deja vous.  I really felt like I recognized that school.  Right then, I remembered having that weird mud dream.  I told her about it while we passed the office.  She thought it was an interesting dream and asked me where the library was in my dream, since I mentioned the mud books to her.  To the amazement of both of us, I walked right to the library.  I did the same thing for the cafeteria.  It was the most bizarre feeling that I’ve ever had!  I didn’t know what to say.  I don’t think that she did either.  We both kinda dismissed it as coincidence. 

So that makes three pretty substantial things that have happened like that to me.  I know that I’ve probably had a few more as well, that I just can’t think of at the moment. 

I told my mom about it this evening and mentioned the above stories.  She said “You know Eric, I was thinking about these incidents that you just told me about, and I wouldn’t be surprised if you had some sort of gift – an ability to foresee things.  Now, don’t get me wrong, my mom is by no means a believer in witch craft or fortune telling or anything like that.  But, she’s a pretty devout Christian and believes in miracles and things of the sort.  She thinks that maybe God is responsible for this.  And I sort of think that as well.  I have for a while, but never really voiced it to many people.  I’m not saying that I’m a psychic or anything, but these things are too weird to be mere coincidences. 

Today, with that bridge, I still can’t get over how I contemplated for a few seconds during my drive and thought about how bad it would suck if that stretch of road all of the sudden wasn’t able to support rush hour traffic.  And then this accident in Minnesota.  Now I have to wonder.  Did I really foresee this accident happening and not realize it?  The thing about these types of occurences is that I never think about it as foreseeing, until the incident actually plays out in real life.  Otherwise, they end up being random thoughts that so often pass through my head. 

I wish there was some way to know that what I was thinking was a premonition.  I’ll have to be more aware of things now to see if it happens anymore.  Has anyone else had experiences even remotely similar to mine?  Let me know if you have.  I’d be interested in hearing other people’s stories or just thoughts about what to make of my weird “ability”.

