Man, October’s got a lot going on.  First of all, the go-live of our software for our client got delayed by two weeks.  It was supposed to have gone live yesterday, but due to some issues, it was delayed to the 15th of this month.  That means that I’ll have to be in Detroit a little longer than I originally intended. 

Lori is going to Shreveport with Penny tomorrow.  She’ll be up there until this coming Sunday.  She is going to be shooting Donna’s wedding portraits for her.  Her wedding is in a few weeks.  Because she’s going to be gone, that means that I’ll only get to see her on Sunday and then on Monday (Columbus Day) I’ll be flying back up to Detroit again. 

The good thing is that Lori got to come up here to Detroit last Thursday and stayed until yesterday morning.  Our one year anniversary was on Sunday, so it was cool that we got to spend it together.  We had a nice steak dinner Sunday night and just really enjoyed being with each other for more than the one-day weekends that I’ve been having lately.

Speaking of our anniversary, I had flowers delivered to the hotel to surprise Lori.  However, they didn’t get delivered to the room like I had requested.  They were sitting at the front desk.  I had to go down and pick them up which kinda took from the surprise that I was hoping for.  And on top of that, they weren’t even the right flowers.  The only thing that was correct was that they were in a pink vase.  After calling 800 Flowers about the incident, I was able to have the correct bouquet delivered to Lori today in Austin.  She said they looked amazing.  Lucky her – 2 sets of flowers instead of just one.  And to make up for the inconvenience (which seems to be the word of our lives lately), they took 20% off the price of the original bouquet and the second was free.

Back to October now.  The week between Donna’s wedding and the family reunion that we have to go to the following weekend, we should be finding out what the sex of our baby is.  This will be the first real good sonogram that we’ve had during this pregnancy since the first one was very early on.  Baby ELF looked like a grain of rice with that one.  Not only will we find out the sex (ELF cooperating, that is), but we also have Logan’s birthday that week.  On October 25th, one year ago, Logan came into this world and left at the same time.  It’s hard to believe that a year has gone by.  For weeks and months afterwards, time seemed to be going by at such a slow pace that it seemed like time would never heal the hurt that we felt.  It was just day-by-day for so long.  And now a year has flown by.  A one year anniversary for us and another pregnancy with the same timeline as Logan’s.  What a trip. 

This pregnancy is going so much better for Lori this time.  I say that, relatively speaking though.  I know that she worries every day about the possibility of another loss.  But, physically speaking she hasn’t had any of the complications that she had while she was pregnant with Logan.  In fact, these past couple weeks, she’s really been feeling the baby kicking quite a bit.  That’s exciting news!  I’m jealous that she gets to experience things like that, but I’m not so sure that I’d like to go through birth.  I’ll leave that up to her!  I know that she’ll do an awesome job at it!!

So the that we find out what the sex is and commemorate Logan’s birthdate will be pretty emotional for us.  It’s going to be an interesting time.  The varying emotions that I’m sure we’re going to feel will be difficult and bittersweet to deal with.  We’ll be happy to see our new baby and at the same time, we’ll be sad knowing that it was a year prior that we lost our first son.  The good thing is that we have a strong marriage.  We’re good at leaning on each other when it comes to things like this. 

So much going on in October, but once it’s over, my traveling will be over as well.  I’ll be able to be home with my wife, dog and baby ELF to enjoy the rest of the pregnancy.  I can’t wait to be able to once again call my home “home”, instead of calling the hotel “home”.  I can’t wait for the second half of the pregnancy to fly by so that we can start being the parents that we’ve been wanting to be for so long now.

One more thing worth mentioning.  Monica, from our pregnancy loss support group just had her baby yesterday.  They induced her and she and the baby are doing great!  Lori just went up to the hospital to visit them.  She said the baby was beautiful!  Lori also said that she got pretty emotional when Monica asked her how she was doing.  But, like I told Lori, our day will come.  We’re half way through this pregnancy and before we know it, we will be welcoming our baby into this world as well.  Just like Kristi and Josh (also from our group).  They are having their baby on the 11th of this month.  This will also be their first baby since their loss last year. 

I think that’s it for now.  I’m going to play some Nintendo Wii for a little while.  Yes, I brought it to the hotel with me.  Gotta have something to do at night.

