I went to the Dr. today.  I am back to my starting weight (no, I won’t tell you what it is).  The Dr. was happy about this as I have been sick and not gained any weight so far in this pregnancy (actually lost weight).  He said I should now start gaining about 1/2 lb. a week!  YIKES!!!!!  Got to hear the baby’s heartbeat.  150 bpm on our little mover.  Dr. Maunder has to keep moving the doppler around to try and keep up with the baby!

Our ultrasound is scheduled for next Friday.  We’re doing it a week earlier than I had expected, but I think it’s good seeing as how I’ll probably be an emotional wreck the last week of October.  I’m nervous, yet excited at the same time.  I can honestly say I now know the true meaning of the word bittersweet.  We never had a 2nd trimester ultrasound with Logan.  I had him 2 days before my appt.  So, to do this with the new baby is very…ummmm….what’s the word I’m looking for here…..I hate to say weird, but it kinda is.  I’m not sure what to expect.  On one hand, I’ll be happy to see the baby and find out the sex and know it’s OK, on the other hand, I know that is something I never got to experience with Logan and was so looking forward to.  Again, bittersweet.

At my visit last week, Dr. M. said he had attended a seminar that was given about miscarriages.  It has been discovered that women who have abnormal thyroids have a higher chance of miscarriage than other women.  I forget what the percentage was.  Anyway, I guess that they have discovered that abnormal thyroids have played a big part of miscarriages that previously have had no causes.  So, I did the blood work for this test (needles, my favorite!) .  It came back normal.  Again, something to be bittersweet about.  On one hand, I’m normal.  On the other, still no definite cause to me losing Logan.  Hopefully though, this bit of information will help future women avoid miscarriages.

