It’s here. The last day of my constant traveling. The day that I’ve been waiting for for quite some time now. At last, I’ll be able to be home with my wife, no matter what. I may have the occasional trip every now and then, but for all intents and purposes, my traveling days are over. I can’t begin to tell you how excited I am to be heading home for the last time. I’ve been in Detroit for 11 weeks in a row. But that time has flown by!

It hasn’t really sunk in yet that I won’t be flying back up to Detroit on Sunday as I have for the past few months. It’s going to be weird for me to not be up there. In a way, I’ll miss it. I’ve worked with some great people up there. The project team has been an absolute pleasure to work with. And for the most part, so have the users. Of course, there are some users that are really negative about the change process that they’re going to, but we’ve had enough good feedback to make it all worth while.

For the past few weeks since they went live with our software, I’ve pretty much based myself in the Financial Services office. I feel like I’ve been a part of their staff down there. And I’m sure that they felt the same way. This morning when I got in, they had a gift waiting for me in the desk that I have been calling mine for the last 3 weeks. It was a baby gift bag and in it was a hand made blanket that Maryam, one of the accountants, crotcheted for Corban. When I get home, I’ll take a picture of it and post it with this blog entry. What an awesome gift! The whole office signed the bag that they gave me. That really meant alot to me. You know me, I’m a sentimental dude. I totally appreciate awesome acts of kindness like that. It makes me realize what an impact I’ve had on people that I interact with. Just as I’ll miss that office, I know that they’ll miss me too. I love to ham it up and it showed by all the laughing that we did while I was there.

But don’t let all this sentimental stuff make you think that I’m not going to love being back home. I’ll miss people that I’ve worked with, but not as much as I’ve missed home. Actually, it’s going to take a while to get used to being back home. I’m not going to know how to handle not having a maid that makes my bed and cleans my room and bathroom. I think I’m going to have to take up that chore when I’m back home. Maybe going home won’t be so cool after all……..SIKE! I can deal with that. hahaha.

On a completely different topic, I wanted to share something that I thought was pretty funny. About a month ago or so, I did a blog entry about a story that I saw on the news about a man that picked up a bbq grill at an auction and found someone’s preserved leg inside of it. You can read my entry here. Well, with the website that we use to host our blog, WordPress.com, we are able to see stats about people that visit our site. If someone happened upon our blog by doing an internet search, it shows us what words they used for their searches. So, check out the internet searches that led people to our site the other day. I tried typing these search phrases into Google and we ended up being on the first or second pages of the Google searches. In fact, for the search “leg grill court”, we were the first site that popped up! How funny is that?!

search-results.jpg

leg-google_small.jpg

Well, I’m going to end this one now and get some reading done in the book that I picked up last week. It’s called “Water for Elephants”. I’m about 100 pages into it and so far, I love it. As of right now, I recommend it. It was a New York Times best seller, so we’ll see how I rate it. Should be a good one though.

