There really hasn’t been much to report lately. We’ve just been crusin’ through the weeks getting closer to the day that we’ll be parents to a newborn baby. The time, at least to me, seems to be flying by, yet at the same time, it seems like it’s taking forever. The ironic thing is that once Corban is born, I’m sure that there will be times (during the crying and diaper changing) that I’ll be wishing that we had a little longer before the craziness begins. Although, I’m sure all the sleepless nights and complete change of priorities will totally be worth it.

I guess Monday officially begins the 3rd trimester for Lori. The third and final one. I know that it’s going to be the shortest and the longest stretch for Lori to go through. She’s already gotten to the point that sleeping at night is getting difficult because it’s hard for her to find a comfortable position. Plus the kicking that Corban loves doing doesn’t make at any task for Mommmy.

Recently we’ve found ourselves asking “Are we ready for this?” I’m sure that we’ll never truly be completely ready for it, but like it or not, God willing, it’s going to happen. And it’s coming time for us to begin our preparing that we think we need to do. Lamaze classes start on January 9th. They will be 2 1/2 hours each Wednesday nights for a month. We also plan on taking a one time parenting class that is offered. It’s kinda like a parental primer. We’ll learn about how to soothe a crying baby, infant & child safety, newborn characteristics, health & nutrition, feeding options, diapering, illness, sleep patterns, colic, daycare and much much more (yes, I typed that from the brochure that we got). It’s a 3 hour class and I’m sure that we won’t remember everything that we learn in that time. But, I think that it’s going to be a good eye-opener for us. I don’t know about any of that stuff right now, so any advice will help me. I’m sure that Lori is pretty much in the same boat as well.

As Corban’s due date gets closer, I get more and more excited. But at the same time, I get more and more nervous. Of course everyone says “Oh, I’m sure that you’ll make great parents!” It’s almost cliche to say that to anyone that you’re certain isn’t a cruel person. And it’s nice knowing that people do say that to us. But, I don’t know how much consolation that will be when it comes down to the real deal! Don’t get me wrong, I’m not getting so worried that it’s going to be a problem; I just wonder how I will do everything that you are supposed to do as a parent. The one thing that does help is knowing that people have been doing this forever and nobody in this world is really a parent until they are a parent. I know that we’ll do a great job raising our little cute, polite, yet smartass kid. How could he not be all of those things having parents like us?

I can’t wait to start the raisin’. Bring it on! Even with all this nervousness, I’m actually looking forward to being as responsible as we’re going to have to be raising a child. I think I do better when I have something in my life that forces me to be structured. Otherwise, I’m pretty lazy. I’m excited about being Corban’s dad. I’m excited about all the little kid things that we’re going to get to do with him. I’m excited about family traditions that we’ll build over the years. The only thing I can hope for is that he’ll be just as excited to have us as parents!

