Last night, we made a big step concerning our baby stuff that we’ve already started accumulating here and there.  Both of us (more me than Lori) have picked up a couple things in stores if we see something that catches our attention.  For me, it’s almost like an addiction.  I love getting stuff for my son, even though he hasn’t been born yet.  A few weeks ago, Lori’s mom and stepdad were in town for the weekend.  Their dog got sick on our carpet and we didn’t have any good carpet cleaner to get it up with.  So, I volunteered to go to Wal Mart to pick something up.  It was 10:00 at night.  I came back from the store with some carpet cleaner and $20 worth of baby stuff.  Everyone laughed at me.  But, the way I look at it, getting things here and there is better than having to buy alot of stuff all at once.

So, we’ve been accumulating and putting everything in the new dresser that we bought recently.  But, we have not taken the tags off of anything yet.  At a pregnancy-after-loss support group that we attended for the past month and a half, the guy leading the group asked us about that.  He asked us why we hadn’t taken the tags off of anything.  We really didn’t have an answer.  It’s not that either one of us was superstitious, or  were we?  I wasn’t thinking that if we took the tags off that there might be a chance that something would happen to Corban.  Well, maybe a little bit of that at first.  What I mean is that very early on in the pregnancy, we were cautious, but because it was so early.  We just have to both keep holding on to our faith that God will bless us with a healthy baby.

At that support group meeting, he (the counselor) said “Well, if you’re not superstitious, then take some tags off.  Lori didn’t know if she could bring herself to do it, but I emphatically said that I would.  But, a couple weeks slipped by and I forgot about it.

Last night, I was putting up some more baby stuff that we got for Christmas.  I decided that I was going to remove the tags from everything that we had.  And so it started.  I carefully took the tags off and started grouping things in like stacks.  Pants, onesies, pajamas with feet, bibs, etc.  It took quite a while, surprisingly.  While doing that, I started thinking about how much you need to support a baby.  The part that sucks is that you get all this stuff and you really don’t use it for that long because of how fast babies grow.  Guess that’s why most of it is pretty cheap.

I took a few pictures of some of the things that I was detagging last night.  My favorite is the top bib in the last picture!

tags.jpg

clothes.jpg

bibs.jpg

The tags have been removed and we feel like we have accomplished alot!  Now, I just can’t wait to start using this stuff with Corban.  We’ll see how we feel about how cute and cool everything is when it’s been spit up on and dirtied and we’re doing laundry like there’s no tomorrow.  But, no matter how laborious it gets, it’ll be worth every minute of it if it means that we have a baby to dirty all these things up!

