I’m stealing this idea from some other people that I know who’s blogs are listed on the right-hand side of our blog. I guess I’ll go ahead and rattle off some facts about myself that maybe everyone doesn’t already know.

1. I am a very shy person. I know that most of the people that know me now won’t believe that, but it’s true. It probably stems from the fact that I went to 11 different schools (that I could remember) in my 13 years of schoolin’. During 6th grade, if my memory serves me correctly, I went to 3 different schools. Yes my dad was in the military, but no, that’s not why I moved so much. Most of the moving came after my parents divorced, when I was 10.

2. I used to live in Naples, Italy. This occurred while my parents were still married. We arrived in Italy when I was 3 and left when I was 7 (1977 – 1981, for those of you trying to do the math). We lived on the 8th floor of a 10 story apartment building, right on the beach. I wish I was older while we were there. I think I still had a good time though, even as a kid.

3. Before we left Italy, we were in a very serious earthquake. I just googled it and there were more than 2700 people killed in that quake and 1500 missing.  The epicenter was 50 miles south of us, but I can still remember having to run down 8 flights of stairs and looking up to see the building swaying back and forth. Pretty crazy!

4. I know Braille. Actually, I’m learning Braille. Well, I haven’t been working on it lately, but I am enrolled in a correspondence course from the Library of Congress to get certified as a Braille transcriber. Don’t ask me why, I’m just weird like that. I stumbled across a Braille book when I was in high school and was intrigued by the Braille system. I tried learning then, but didn’t ever stick with it. A few years ago, I found out about this course, so I picked it up. I’ve completed 7 lessons in it out of 22. I need to start working on it again. It’s been a goal for mine for a while now. It’ll be tough with the baby here though. (…and yes, I can pretty much read those Braille signs that you see in buildings, hotels, elevators, etc. And no, I can’t do it by touch. I’m not blind!)

5. I can’t stand for things to make noise – like a ceiling fan. That drives me absolutely crazy, especially when I’m trying to sleep. To Lori, it doesn’t matter. But she knows it drives me up a wall! Last night, I heard our ceiling fan a little off balance. The room got quiet as we were getting ready to go to sleep. Then I said “Man, what is that noise!!??” Lori laughed and said “I was wondering how long it was going to take you to say something about that!” Things that were designed to not make noise do not need to make noise. Period!

6. I had an ingrown toenail real bad on my right big toe when I was in high school. It had to be cut on and they removed the outer edges on each side of it to ensure that it wouldn’t grow back again. (I know, it’s gross, but there’s a point to this.) Well, I’ve always been embarrassed about it even though 99.9% of people that I know, don’t know about it. It’s not that easy to see. Well, when Lori and I first started dating, I told her about it. She freaked out. I freaked out because she freaked out! Come to find out, she has the same thing, but on her left toe (instead of right, like mine). So when we stand facing each other, our freaky toes touch each other. LOL. Weird, but hey, we’re soulmates. We were made for each other.

7. Lori and I met in 1997 on America Online. We were chatroom junkies. Everyone was back then. We didn’t meet with the intention of dating though. Only as friends. To make a long story short, I later went off to college, she got married to the wrong person, we met back up and the rest is history. We were meant to be together. Awwww….I know, we’re cute like that.

8. I rarely finish things that I set out to do. It sucks, but that’s how I am. I have always wanted to change that about myself. The Braille course is a good example. I also have a stunt kite that I paid alot of money for years ago, but I still don’t know how to do the first trick with it. I get interested in learning things and then I quit at the first sign of getting bored with it. I’m just plain lazy. Maybe having a child will change that.

9. I took Japanese in college. I took 2 semesters of it. I had plans to take all 4 courses that they offered, but the partying in college starting getting in the way of learning a new language. I got an A my first semester (I loved the class) and a B the next. It wasn’t as tough as you would think though, to learn. I mean, there’s the whole learning a new writing system thing, but I learned the language just as easy as I did my foreign language in high school. I really don’t remember much from the class, but I do still have the books in case I get interested in learning again. Yeah right!

10. My biggest pet peeve is someone that smacks their food or their lips when they eat. Hearing someone smack their food makes my stomach hurt. I don’t know what it is about it, but I can’t stand it! So please, if you dine with me any time soon, and you’re a smacker, try to control yourself. Besides, it’s not polite! And it may be the last time that I eat with you!

11. Finally, I recently learned to knit. Now before you judge me, you can find information that states that historically, it was men that first starting knitting. I was in a store one day while I was travelling to Detroit for work, and I passed the aisle that has the yarn and whatnot. I saw a book that taught how to knit. I was curious as to what it really took to knit. I didn’t understand now banging two needles together would result in blankets and clothes. So, curiosity got me and I set my pride aside and bought a kit. (I had planned on saying that it was my wife’s if I was asked about it…LOL) I decided that I was going to make a blanket for Corban. I know, I’m weird. I think everyone already knows that. Well, I started on it, and I really don’t like doing it. It takes too long. And I jacked up the holes in it – just take a look! And I’m a very impatient person. I keep swearing that I’m going to get it done just to prove Lori wrong, but the picture below shows the progress that I made. I haven’t touched it in almost 2 month. We’ll see what happens with it. There, I said it, I learned to knit. Poke fun if you will. My wife thinks it pretty cool.

blanket.jpg

