I think we have mentioned on here before that our apartment building is filled with pregnant women.  We are due on March 16th, another couple upstairs is due sometime in the middle of February and then there is another couple that was due on February 20th, but they just had their baby girl last Wednesday.  The mother has something that she ended up going to the doctor for the day before Christmas and then they decided to keep her at the hospital to monitor her until she delivered.  They were supposed to induce her tomorrow (Tuesday), but she ended up having the baby c-section last Wednesday.  They released the mother from the hospital last night, but the baby still has a little time before they will let her go home.

That got me and Lori to talking about this kind of situation.  I’m at the point now where I keep saying “Man, let’s have this baby already.  I’m ready to start the parenting thing.”  But, after hearing about our neighbors, I don’t think that I want Lori to have Corban too much sooner than the actual due date.  If having our baby early means that we might have to, at some point, leave him in the hospital because he’s not fully ready to come home, then I don’t want to do that!  I mean, if it comes down to it and we have no choice, then it is what it is (man, I hate it when people say “it is what it is”, but sometimes, it’s the most appropriate thing to say).

I can’t imagine how hard that must be, especially for the mother, to have to leave your baby in the hospital!  So now I’ve changed my tune on the whole “let’s get it over with” deal.  I want Corban to take his time (but not too much time) growing inside Mommy’s belly.  He is scheduled for 40 weeks and if he wants to take 40 weeks, then so be it.  If that means that we can deliver, stay a day or so at the hospital and then book it on home, then that’s the route that I want to go.  Besides, I’m hoping that we don’t have to do anything that would require that Lori have a c-section.  I want to see her deliver Corban.  I’ve always wanted to be there with my wife when she was actually delivering a baby the old fashioned way.  Hopefully, things will work out for us so that she’ll be able to do that.  Until then, keep on growing and resting Corban, we’re not ready for you yet.

