I’ve been meaning to write this blog for a few days now, but with the preggo brain, I kept forgetting.  I finally remembered, so here goes!!

So, we have a dog park at our apartment complex.  We take Penny there almost every day when the weather cooperates.  We go around 5:30ish when everyone else comes out.  Of course, we know almost everyone that stops by with their dogs. And pretty much everyone knows our story about Logan.  The other day, a new girl was in the park with her dog.  She noticed I was pregnant (obviously) and asked if this was my first baby.  I was just about to answer “Well, no it’s not” when one of the girls in the park interrupted me and said, “Yes, this is her first”.  How dare she!!  I was speechless.  And of course, me hardly ever standing up for myself, said nothing.  I mean, who gave her the right to speak for me??

I am not ashamed to admit that I have lost a baby before this pregnancy.  Logan was our first born son and always will be.   Why would I be ashamed to admit that?  It floors me that people think it is so taboo to acknowledge the fact that you have lost a baby.  Why is it so “sketchy” to talk about but yet you can tell anyone that your grandmother/aunt/uncle/cousin passed away?  I just don’t understand.

Through sharing my story, I have met others like me.  As a matter of fact, one of our neighbors lost a baby boy at 4 1/2 months and just gave birth to a precious little girl.  I can talk to her about how she feels and how I feel and she understands.  If I wouldn’t have told her about Logan, I might have never found out that we shared a special bond.  So, from now on, I will make sure that my voice is heard and Logan is recognized.

