We started out to Louisiana this past Memorial Day weekend excited about our family reunion.  However, on the way, my mom called me and told me that my niece Ashley’s baby was in the hospital.  Background:  Aaron was exactly 1 week older than Corban and is the son of my step-niece, Ashley.  Ashley is 21.  My Pappy (stepfather) is older than my mom, so yes, he has a grandson and a great grandson that are about the same age.

It seems that Ashley was visiting her mom on Thursday and put the baby down to sleep on her mom’s bed.  Her mom went in about 45 minutes later to check on Aaron and he was already blue.  She started CPR and called 911.  They worked on him all the way to the hospital.  Unfortunately, he did not make it.  So, we got the call when we were on the way to Louisiana.  Such a tragedy.  I just don’t understand why babies have to die.  Child molesters, murderers, drug dealers will live for years supported by our tax dollars in prisons.  Little babies are innocent, pure.  I know I will never understand and that there is purpose in everything that happens in life, but it doesn’t make it any less tragic.

Needless to say, our weekend excitement wasn’t that exciting anymore.  And, I won’t even begin to tell you about the whole autopsy, funeral mess.  Please pray for our family and especially for my niece, Ashley. 

