Well, today I had my first “time out” and man, was it nice.  I met my friend T at Chili’s for happy hour.  This is the first time that I have really left Corban.  Twice when he was smaller, I went to the store and left him home with Eric, but those trips didn’t turn out that great.  Corban started crying and I had to hurry back home.  Well, today Corban is 5 1/2 months old and both he and Eric are more “mature”.

I was a nervous wreck to leave Corban.  I was in tears as I backed out of the driveway.  I even called before I was 5 miles down the road!  It was so nice to have an adult conversation although I must admit that I probably talked T’s ear off!  I was gone a little over 2 hours and was anxious the whole time.

When I walked back through the door, I was attacked by our dog, Penny.  It has been a long time since I’ve left her and she went crazy!  Man, if you ever wonder what unconditional love feels like, get a dog!  Corban was in the bath and Eric was singing to him.  All was well. The house was still intact.  Penny was in one piece and Corban was happy as could be.  If it weren’t for Penny, I don’t think I would have been missed at all!

It sure was good to get out.  I’ll have to start giving myself “time outs” more often.  Maybe the more I have, the less nervous I’ll be about leaving Corban.  Thanks to my wonderful husband for being such a great dad and spouse! I love you sweets!!

